A Birthday Card

Last week a married friend came to our house. While I was alone with her, she asked me, “What is the worst thing your husband has ever done to you?” Without much hesitation, I answered, “Not keeping his promises.” She was a bit surprised as her answer was physical violence.

Yesterday morning my husband suddenly pointed at a few cards in our bedroom. They were either for our respective birthdays or our wedding anniversary. Then he said, “I even made a giant card for you last time. Over the years, we have slowly neglected the act of giving cards to each other.”

I told him, “I don’t like to receive things as you know. But I’d like you to deliver the promises you’ve made to me. That’ll be the best presents. Take the giant birthday card for example. You had the thought of presenting it to me on my birthday. You didn’t even have to tell me about it. You simply started to plan it by buying or gathering the material. Whenever you had time, you quietly worked on it. You made sure that it was done before my birthday because you knew it would be less meaningful if I received it even one day later. I hope you’ll take all your promises seriously as if they were for my birthdays.”

 It is better to say nothing than to make a promise and not keep it.” (Ecclesiastes 5:5, NLT)


Leave a comment